

**Dallas Central Appraisal District** 

## **RUNOFF ELECTION NOTICE**

**DATE:** December 22, 2021

TO: Mayors of Dallas County Suburban Cities

FROM: W. Kenneth Nolan, Executive Director/Chief Appraiser

RE: Results of 2021 Election of Suburban Cities Representative to DCAD Board of Directors

State law requires the Chief Appraiser to conduct an election of representatives to the Board of Directors in odd numbered years. The process outlined in the Texas Property Tax Code requires the election to be conducted and the individual entities notified of the results once the process is complete.

## 1. Suburban Cities Election

The election process requires a runoff. The following suburban cities participated in the election. Each of their selections is noted below. The current tally indicates Michael Hurtt of Desoto received 13, Brett Franks of Sachse received 4, Shante L. Allen of Glenn Heights received 3, Diane Cartwright of Irving received 1, and Steve Nichols of Hutchins received 1 of the 22 votes cast. Since there was no one candidate receiving 16 votes (majority of the 30 votes eligible), a runoff election is necessary between the top two finishers: Michael Hurtt of Desoto and Brett Franks of Sachse.

<u>City</u>	<b>Candidate Selected</b>
1. Addison	Michael Hurtt
2. Balch Springs	Michael Hurtt
3. Carrollton	Michael Hurtt
4. Cedar Hill	Michael Hurtt
5. Cockrell Hill	No Vote
6. Combine	No Vote
7. Coppell	No Vote
8. DeSoto	Shante L. Allen
9. Duncanville	Michael Hurtt
10. Farmers Branch	Michael Hurtt
11. Ferris	No Vote
12. Garland	No Vote
13. Glenn Heights	Shante L. Allen
14. Grand Prairie	No Vote

15. Grapevine	No Vote
16. Highland Park	Michael Hurtt
17. Hutchins	Steve Nichols
18. Irving	Diane Cartwright
19. Lancaster	Shante L. Allen
20. Lewisville	No Vote
21. Mesquite	Michael Hurtt
22. Ovilla	Michael Hurtt
23. Richardson	Michael Hurtt
24. Rowlett	Brett Franks
25. Sachse	Brett Franks
26. Seagoville	Michael Hurtt
27. Sunnyvale	Michael Hurtt
28. University Park	Michael Hurtt
29. Wilmer	Brett Franks
30. Wylie	Brett Franks

## A runoff ballot and procedures are attached.

Please make plans on your council agenda during January to vote for a Suburban Cities Representative. <u>One of the two candidates must receive 16 votes to be elected</u>. We would appreciate your cooperation in this important process.

Attachment Runoff Ballot

cc: DCAD Board of Directors

Mr. Michael Hurtt 217 South Hampton Rd Desoto, TX 75115

Mr. Brett Franks 4811 West Creek Ln. Sachse, TX 75048-4301

Ms. Shante L. Allen 1602 Wavecrest Dr. Desoto, TX 75115

Ms. Diane Cartwright 7520 North MacArthur Blvd., Suite 100 Irving, TX 75063

Mr. Steve Nichols 321 N. Main Street P.O. Box 500 Hutchins, TX 75141

City Manager- Suburban Cities City Secretary - Suburban Cities Suburban Cities Tax Assessor/Collectors